On this blog you will find NEWS about
writing and illustrating Children's Books, the society and its members and activities as well as links to websites and blogs about Children's Books


The English Academy of Southern Africa is pleased to announce the winners of the above listed awards which were run in 2010.

Seven books were shortlisted for this award. These were:

The Billion Dollar Soccer Ball by Michael Williams (Maskew Miller Longman, 2009)
Dance of the Freaky Green Gold by John Coetzee (Tafelberg, 2008)
Daniel Fox and the Jester’s Legacy by Andy Petersen (Penguin, 2009)
Fuse by S A Partridge (Human & Rousseau, 2009)
Jesse’s Story by Fiona MacGregor (Maskew Miller Longman, 2008)
Sharkey’s Son by Gillian D`Achada (Tafelberg, 2008)
The Summer of Toffie and Grummer by Edyth Bulbring (Oxford University Press SA, 2008)

The award goes to Andy Petersen for Daniel Fox and the Jester’s Legacy (Penguin, 2009). The judges noted that ‘the novel is interesting, with engaging complex characters, an imaginatively constructed world and surprising plot twists’.

Honourable mention goes to Gillian D`Achada for Sharkey’s Son (Tafelberg, 2008) and to S A Partridge for Fuse (Human & Rousseau, 2009). Fuse was highly commended for its exploration of school violence, bullying and abuse, showing what might drive a bullied child to strike back, and Sharkey’s Son was described as a beautifully written novel, with an almost lyric feel to it at times.

Judges: Crystal Warren (Convener), Marike Beyers and Megan van der Nest

The following six stories were shortlisted for the award:

‘Buiten Street’ by Stephen Watson (New Contrast, Vol. 36 No 4 2008)
‘Arrested Development’ by Sandisile Tshuma (Words, Fourth Quarter 2008)
‘Help’ by Liesl Jobson (New Contrast, Vol. 36 No 2 2008)
‘Hannah Hunter Watson’ by Stephen Watson (New Contrast, Vol. 36 No 2 2008)
‘Strangers’ by Arja Salafranca (New Contrast, Vol. 37 No 4 2009)
‘Venus Crossing’ by Gail Dendy (New Contrast, Vol. 37 No 6 2009)

The award goes to Stephen Watson for ‘Buiten Street’. The judges were impressed by his discursive style and mastery of language and imagery. They noted that the story ‘captures the poignancy of the struggle we all go through to accept and understand the experiences that form us’.

Honourable mention goes to Sandisile Tshuma for ‘Arrested Development’. The judges described it as a ‘beautifully observed story of a journey – both literal and figurative’. They loved its “hustle, hassle, bustle and bluster” and felt that the images and noise came across beautifully.

Judges: Jo-Anne Richards (Convener), Hugh Hodge and Phakama Mbonambi


Each award is a cash prize and an illuminated certificate. The Percy FitzPatrick Prize carries a cash value of R7 000 and the Thomas Pringle Award R2 000. The award ceremonies will be organised in due course in collaboration with the publishers.

For more information on English Academy awards, please contact Naomi Nkealah on 011 717 9339 or at You can also visit the English Academy web site


Anonymous said...

Good blog you have got here.. It's difficult to find good quality writing like yours these days. I truly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

my webpage ロレックスレプリカ

Anonymous said...

I pay a visit daily a few web sites and blogs to read
articles, except this weblog offers feature based writing.

Take a look at my web blog プラダ トートバッグ

Anonymous said...

Asking questions are really pleasant thing if you are not
understanding anything totally, except this post provides fastidious understanding even.

My website: 激安ロレックスコピー

James Chadwick said...

This information is very interesting and useful. It is nice to provide the informational news to the people.

latest news south africa , south africa online news

Haleema Zaheer said...

This blog information is awesome!!
Sell your Artwork