On this blog you will find NEWS about
writing and illustrating Children's Books, the society and its members and activities as well as links to websites and blogs about Children's Books

SA Pen Studzinski Literary Award

Circulated by SCBWI SA for SA PEN (
- Any inquiries please e-mail SA PEN at -

A call for entries

Detailed rules and conditions for submission are available at, or e-mail SA PEN at

Following the success of the HSBC/SA PEN Literary Awards, SA PEN announces a call for entries for the new PEN/STUDZINSKI Literary Award.

Writers from African and SADC countries are invited to submit original, previously unpublished, English-language SHORT STORIES

The best entries will be selected by an editorial board for inclusion in a book to be published next year, under the working title “NEW WRITING FROM AFRICA”

Three prize winners will be selected by
Nobel Laureate J M Coetzee
Prizes, given by John Studzinski, will be awarded:
£5 000, £3 000 and £2 000

Rules for submission of entries:
Entrants must be citizens of an African or SADC* country.
Stories, on any subject, must be in English; length should be 2 500 to 5 000 words.
Entries must be previously unpublished. More than one entry may be submitted.
Entries must be typed, in double spacing, on one side of A4 paper. Pages must be numbered and securely fastened together. Three copies must be submitted.
No name or address should appear on the typescript, but each page must carry the title of the story. The identity of authors will not be revealed to judges.
A covering letter with the name, e-mail & postal address, contact numbers, and photocopy of the ID of the entrant (as proof of citizenship) must be included. Entrants may currently reside outside of Africa.

Submission of entries implies adherence to all rules and conditions of this award, including that of copyright.
Closing date: 30th September 2008
Send your entry to: PEN/STUDZINSKI Literary Award, P O Box 30327, Tokai, 7966, Republic of South Africa. Fax and e-mail entries will not be accepted.

Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe

No comments: